The success of Kiwi snowsports athletes was celebrated in Wanaka last week.

More than 250 people attended Snow Sports New Zealand’s annual awards highlighting achievements throughout the year.

In the past year, New Zealand competitors excelled in their respective snowsports, claiming 16 gold medals, nine silver medals and six bronze medals at eight events, 16 major events and the park & pipe Junior World Championships won since September 1, 2021.

The night’s winners included NZSIA instructor of the year Katharina Mueller and Masters Ski Racing Champions Bonny Teat and Geoff Hunt.

Corey Peters was the adaptive athlete of the year and Ben Barclay won the breakthrough season award.

Freeride athlete of the year went to Jess Hotter, while Nico Porteous was named freeskier of the year. Alpine ski racer of the year went to Alice Robinson.

Snowboarding coach Sean Thompson won coach of the year, alongside snowboarder of the year and Snow Sports NZ overall athlete of the year Zoi Sadowski-Synnott.

Sadowski-Synnott claimed eight event podiums this past season, which included New Zealand’s first Winter Olympic gold medal, an Olympic silver medal, two X Games gold medals (slopestyle and big air) and a Dew Tour win.

The awards, presented by Racers Edge Wanaka, were an opportunity to celebrate before Kiwi athletes head away to begin the northern hemisphere season.