Council updated on Three Waters

Updates on the noncompliant Central Otago District Council wastewater treatment plants were tabled at the council’s meeting last week.

Three Waters director Julie Muir said all roles within Three Waters had been filled and that was a critical requirement in ensuring the council could meet its obligations.

The Cromwell, Alexandra, Naseby and Ranfurly wastewater treatment sites were audited in August and the minor operational and maintenance actions had been passed on to Fulton Hogan, Ms Muir said.

Extensions to abatement notices issued by the Otago Regional Council were unlikely for more than a year.

Naseby had been granted an extension until November 2024 and extensions for Cromwell and Roxburgh were pending.

Work programmes had been developed to support the extension applications.

Roxburgh had a minor breach of nitrogen limits which occurred during the cold winter months.

Sludge removals tender documents were being prepared and it was hoped that would bring the nitrogen back within allowable limits.

Naseby and Ranfurly plants needed a lot of work to understand what changes were required, Ms Muir said.

Work on stopping stormwater getting into the system was needed, as that took up space needed for growth.

The Alexandra plant was compliant at present, but on a knife edge.

Cromwell could progress a detailed design for its upgrade by using development fund contributions, she said.