Speed was the order of the day in Naseby at the weekend.

The final instalment of the New Zealand Luge Naseby Cup was held at Maniototo Adventure Park on Sunday.

Competitors hurtled down the ice track on sleds, sliding round corners while trying to avoid using the barriers at the bottom as brakes.

Competitors from throughout the country — some as far as Whitianga took part in the annual event.

The Naseby Cup is a three race series held each winter, with placegetters awarded points which count towards the final result. The overall winner in each of the four categories — junior women, junior men, senior women and senior men — become the holder of the Naseby Cup for the year.

The Naseby Ice Luge is the only natural-ice luge in the southern hemisphere, and the only refrigerated outdoor track in the world.

It officially became part of the Maniototo Adventure Park on Saturday.


2023 Naseby Cup Junior Women — 1. Paige Smith 2. Alice Bennett 3. Mereaneta Ngataierua-Wririhana-Curry; Junior Men — 1. Liam Pettigrew 2. Nathan Paterson

3. James Bennett; Senior Women — 1. Maggie Dowling

2. Kiera O’Neill 3. Cheyan Vowles; Senior Men — 1. Flyn Coburn 2. Jake Smith 3. Ben Voice.