Otago may have missed out on the Russell Grace Trophy at the 2022 New Zealand Women’s Masters at the weekend but it took the bronze medal after close competition ended in a three-way tie for third.

Fourteen regional teams of four players from Northland to Southland took part in the championship, hosted by the Alexandra Golf Club, playing four 18-hole rounds, where the best three out of four cards counted for each team.

Waikato led from the first round comfortably securing the trophy for the fourth time, with 383 gross Stableford points.

Harbour had the best performance of the final day’s round on Sunday, of 95 team points, rocketing them into outright second place with 356 points, tournament director Denise Langdon said.

Otago, Southland and Manawatu/Whanganui tied for third place with 354 points.

The Otago team of sisters Liz McRae (Wanaka) and Mary Hore (Alexandra), alongside Susan Greig and Tracey Storer (Dunedin) won on countback.

The fourth non-counting card was used for countback, and Storer’s 27 points on the final round clinched the team and region the medal and bragging rights.

Alexandra Golf Club manager Dai Johns said it was a great thing for the town to host the event, bringing teams, supporters and exposure to Alexandra in ideal autumn conditions.

“There were 56 players and another 20-plus managers, caddies and supporters,” he said.

The calibre of competition was very high and the Otago team did “really, really well” to place third, Mr Johns said.