National honours at stake for curlers



at stake for curlers

New Zealand’s best curlers, based on their performance at last week’s national curling championships in Naseby, will be jetting off to Korea later in the year.

The team has yet to be announced as selectors make their final decision, possibly by the end of this week.

Among those who showed winning form on the ice at last week’s national tournament, were Bridget Becker, Natalie Thurlow, Abby Pyle, all of the Maniototo, and Eloise Pointon, of Wellington, who won the women’s tournament.

The men’s tournament was won by Sean Becker, of Patearoa, Scott Becker, of Christchurch, Warren Dobson of Ranfurly, and Hamish Walker, of Kyeburn.

It was Bridget Becker’s eighth New Zealand title and Sean Becker’s 10th.

New Zealand Curling media officer Ian Ford said while most competitors hailed from Central Otago, some had travelled from as far as Auckland and Wellington.

“The teams that are all playing here this weekend are all self-selected, so they put themselves together into teams,” he said on Saturday.

The Naseby Indoor Curling Rink was primed for competitions, ensuring competitors had some of the best conditions to play on, particularly for those preparing for overseas events.

Preparing the ice was as much of an art as the game itself, one passerby commented.

“The ice-makers are out there,” Mr Ford said, between games on Saturday morning.

“They are grooming the ice, which they do before the games, just to make sure that it’s perfectly level as good as it can be.”url cloneNike