In a covid ravaged sporting year the standard of nominations and finalists continues to improve.

In an Olympic year there are some obvious standouts with Zoi Sadowski-Synnott and Nico Porteous both finalists in the Senior, Racers Edge Sportsman, and Gary Anderson Sound Sportswomen of the Year.

Nico is joined by Tairn Collins, Snowboard Slopestyle and Big Air and Campbell Wright, Biathlon, along with Finn Butcher, Canoe Slalom.

Zoi’s running mates are Simone Maier, Multi-Sport and Adventure Racing, with raising star Jess Hotter, Freeride skier also making the finalists.

The junior awards are a wonderful celebration of the talent that abounds in Central Otago. Health 2000 Junior Sportswomen finalists are Ruby Andrews, Free Ski Slopestyle and Big Air, Olivia Key, Alpine Skiing and Rowing, Pipi Horan, Rowing.

The Galloway Cook Allan Junior Sportsman include three impressive young men; Gustav Legnavsky, Free Ski Halfpipe, Marley King Smith, Rowing and Campbell Melville Ives, Snowboarding.

The Spirit Awards are always warmly received by the audience. Kelly and Duncan Good, Ray White, sponsor the junior category which includes Toby Mills, Neve Spooner and Lucas Haas. Wanaka Physiotherapy sponsor the senior awards where Megan Jeffery, Ben Richards and Camille Gullick are finalists.

A new category has been added this year with the Forsyth Barr Para Athlete or Team being recognised, Adam Hall, Alpine Ski Racing and Pam Walker, Lawn Bowls are the finalists. Jennian Homes Team of The Year, celebrate two exceptional rowing quads both from Whakatipu Rowing club and Wakatipu High School. The under 16 Boys Coxed Quad Sculls is up against the under 17 Girls Coxed Quad Sculls.

Work Place First Aid Coach of the Year has four phenomenal coaches in Tommy Pyatt, Freeski Halfpipe, Sean Thompson Snowboard Slopestyle and Big Air plus John Morrison, Rowing who has had an incredible year, as well as Ben Adams, Para Alphine Ski.

The Southern Lakes Motors Supreme Awards the Bruce Grant Memorial Trophy is selected from the winners of the senior and junior, Para and team’s categories.

The awards will be held at the Lake Wanaka Centre, 18 May at 6pm. Tickets can be purchased online from the Sport Otago website or through this link Southern Lakes Motors Central Otago Sports Awards (