Local snowboarder overall athlete of the year


Wanaka snowboarder Zoi Sadowski-Synnott has been awarded overall athlete of the year at the The Snow Sports NZ Annual Awards held last week at the Lake Wanaka Centre.

Following her medal-winning success at the 2018 Olympic Winter Games, Zoi has become one of New Zealand’s most accomplished snow sports athletes.

Zoi claimed the triple crown of snowboarding, winning slopestyle gold at the Burton US Open Snowboarding Championships, X Games Aspen and the FIS World Championships.

Her medal tally also includes X Games silver in snowboard big air.

Zoi is now recognised as one of the world’s best snowboarders.

Earlier this year she was nominated for the best female action sports athlete award at the ESPYs (the Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly awards) presented by American broadcaster ABC.

Snow Sports NZ communications manager Alex Kerr said it had been another successful year for snow sports, with world-class results across a wide range of disciplines.

Highlights included Zoi Sadowski-Synnott winning the world championship title in snowboard slopestyle as well as an X Games gold medal.

Alice Robinson claimed New Zealand’s first alpine ski racing world cup medal in 17 years and became the first New Zealander to earn a junior world title in alpine ski racing. Freeskier Nico Porteous achieved the best-ever ranking for a New Zealand male on the Freeski Halfpipe World Cup Tour, finishing the 2018-2019 season in second-place overall.

Freeride skier Craig Murray earned a spectacular win on the Freeride World Tour in Canada. Para alpine skier Adam Hall was recognised as one of the country’s most accomplished athletes, named para athlete of the year at the Halberg Awards.


Snow Sports NZ Annual Awards Night winners

Overall athlete of the year – Snowboarder Zoi Sadowski-Synnott, of Wanaka.

Instructor of the year – Will Marcinowski, of The Remarkables.

Men’s Masters ski racing champion – Jon Wardrop, of Auckland.

Women’s Masters ski racing champion – Bonny Teat, of Wanaka.

Coach of the year – Tommy Pyatt, of Wanaka.

Freeski breakthrough season – Jessica Hotter, of Ohakune.

Cross country athlete of the year – Campbell Wright, of Wanaka.

Alpine ski racer athlete of the year – Alice Robinson, of Queenstown.

Adaptive snow sports athlete of the year – Adam Hall, of Wanaka.

Freeride athlete of the year – Craig Murray, of Wanaka.

Snowboarder of the year – Zoi Sadowski-Synnott, of Wanaka.

Freeskier of the year – Nico Porteous, of Wanaka.Sport media2021年はコラボレーション祭り!人気ブランドのコラボアイテム10選