‘Meet the candidates’ gatherings scheduled




Three “meet the candidates” meetings have already been announced for Central Otago, where a flurry of last-minute nominations means there will be elections in most wards and community boards.

They include a two-horse race for the Central Otago mayoralty, following an 11th-hour nomination by first-term councillor Victoria Bonham, who will challenge incumbent Tim Cadogan.

Two sitting councillors will be elected unopposed: Stephen Jeffery for the Teviot Valley ward and Stu Duncan for the Maniototo ward.

Ten nominations have been received for the five seats in the Vincent ward and five have been received for the four seats in the Cromwell ward.

All four Central Otago community boards – which have four seats each – will have elections.

There are seven nominations for the Vincent Community Board, eight for the Cromwell Community Board, five for the Maniototo Community Board and five for the Teviot Valley Community Board.

The five members of Central Otago Health will become elected unopposed.

They are Britta Christensen (Cromwell ward), Caroline Tamblyn (Teviot Valley ward), Tracy Paterson and Robert Roy (Vincent ward) and Leigh Overton (Wanaka ward).

In the Queenstown Lakes district, there are three contenders for mayor: incumbent Jim Boult and challengers Al Angus and Nik Kiddle.

There are 10 nominations for the six Wakatipu ward seats and seven for the three Wanaka ward seats.

The sole Arrowtown councillor, Heath Copland, will be elected unopposed, replacing Scott Stevens, who is standing down.

There are six nominations for the four places on the Wanaka Community Board.

Twenty-eight people have put their hands up for Otago Regional Council seats, including six for the three seats in the Dunstan ward.

Twenty-eight people have also been nominated for the Southern District Health Board, including 17 candidates for the four Otago constituency positions.


Voting details

Voting opens on September 20 and closes at noon on October 12.

Meet the candidates meetings announced so far are:

  • St Aidan’s Church Hall, Alexandra, 1.30pm, August 28;
  • Alexandra Memorial Hall, 6.30pm, September 5;
  • Cromwell Presbyterian Church, 7pm, September 17.

For more information about Central Otago elections go to www.codc.govt.nz/your-council/elections/


 Running sneakersShop: Nike