WoolOn leader and committee elected after meeting walkouts


WoolOn Creative and Fashion Society has elected the 2020 WoolOn Committee.

The committee was elected at a meeting dominated by debate and walkouts in Alexandra last week.

The special general meeting was held for the sole purpose of electing a governance committee after one was unable to be formed at the WoolOn Creative and Fashion Society annual general meeting in January.

Two nominations were received for the position of chairman, incumbent WoolOn chairwoman Victoria Ravenscroft, and Stan Randle. Ms Ravenscroft was successfully elected 17 votes to 11, with one late vote accepted.

The positions of deputy chairwoman, secretary and financial controller received a nomination each and were uncontested.

Four nominations for committee members were received and accepted.

The WoolOn Fashion and Creative Society 2020 governance committee is: chairwoman Victoria Ravenscroft, deputy chairwoman Mary Hinsen, secretary Amy Delport, financial controller Kaye Moore, Sharleen Stirling-Lindsay, Bev Muir, Jennifer Hay, and Maryon Beer.

Ms Ravenscroft said “the breadth of skills and experience committee members bring will enable us to move forward towards putting on a successful event in 2020 and beyond”.

The WoolOn Creative Fashion event 2020 will be held August 14-15 at Highlands in Cromwell.

 Best jordan SneakersNike Air Max 270