Local heroes celebrated




Seven Central Otago and Queenstown Lakes residents have been recognised in the national Local Hero Awards.

The awards are part of the 2017 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards and Otago recipients were presented with their medals at a ceremony in Dunedin on Monday.

The Central Otago and Queenstown Lakes recipients were Michael Paardekooper, of Cromwell, Ashleigh Smith, of Naseby, Charlotte Aarden, of Alexandra, Hayden Paddon, of Wanaka, Peter Watts, of Arrowtown, Keryn Tubbs, of Alexandra, and Gordon Divers, of Alexandra. For full details, go to www.odt.co.nz/news/dunedin/otago’s-local-heroesRunning SneakersSneakers