New photo awards honour late member


Two new photography awards have been established in memory of the late Kay Todd, a Hullabaloo founding member and Lake Hawea photographer.

The Hullabaloo Art Space established the annual awards, one for a pupil from Mt Aspiring College and one for a pupil from Cromwell College, Hullabaloo member and Bannockburn artist Megan Huffadine said.

The inaugural awards have been won by Hannah Davey (Mt Aspiring College) and Carter McAuliffe (Cromwell College), who have both just completed year 13.

The awards were for a body of work, and the prize comprises cash and the opportunity for the winner to exhibit one piece of work at Hullabaloo, in the Old Cromwell Historic Precinct.

Hannah’s photograph Tea party for one would be on display at Hullabaloo until January 9, and Carter had also been offered the opportunity to display work at Hullabaloo, Huffadine said.

Members of the Hullabaloo collective were thrilled to be able to honour Todd through the prize, and encourage young photographers at the same time, she said.

Todd, who was a photographer and picture-framer, was a valued member of Hullabaloo for seven years, Huffadine said.

“Kay was a founding member of Hullabaloo and part of the collective until she passed away in 2013. The award is a memorial to her. Being part of Hullabaloo was special to Kay as was her deep love of photography.”Nike air jordan SneakersAir Jordan 1 Low Atmosphere Grey/White-Black For Sale